Jane's Walk

Walking tours by and for the citizens


Jane's Walk is a movement of free walking tours inspired by Jane Jacobs. The walks get people to tell stories about their communities, explore their cities, and connect with neighbours. The tours are led by citizens and organizations and provide a better understanding of the city by offering overviews of local history, urban planning and civic involvement, by walking, observing and discussing.

Jane’s Walk encourages people to tell stories about their neighborhoods, explore the city and interact with their neighbors. In 2016, the event took place in more than 200 cities in 39 countries on 6 continents.

In 2017, the Montréal Urban Ecology Centre is aiming for a rich and diverse programming with the objective of 150 walking conversations in the Montréal area.

Join the next edition on May 5th, 6th and 7th, 2017


Jane’s Walk is celebrated all over the world. The festive weekend takes place every year on the first week-end in May. In 2017, it will be on May 5th, 6th and 7th. The deadline for submission of walks is April 05, 2017.

Jane’s Walk is led by Montréal enthusiasts


Individuals, groups and organizations are invited to join Jane’s Walk by proposing guided tours on any topic. The guides themselves are free to choose their own itinerary, points of interest and stories about a neighborhood, an issue, etc.
Jane’s Walk organizers are:

  • Anyone who enjoys getting to know their city and neighbours.
  • People who want to participate in meaningful conversations about the future of their neighbourhoods.
  • People committed to building supportive communities and improving the pedestrian environment.
  • People who want to make real changes in cities and neighborhoods, such as reducing social inequality.

Jane’s Walk share a passion for the city


The objective of Jane’s Walk is to bring citizens closer to their city, interact with their neighbors, discover new neighborhoods and learn more about the urban landscape, buildings, parks, public places, monuments and every aspect of daily life. Jane’s Walk tours can be educational, and a lot of fun! You can meet your neighbours, make new friends, and exchange business cards with new contacts. You can learn something new, and share what you know. Jane's Walk lets people share their passion for the city, creates a sense of belonging and fosters civic pride.

Jane’s Walk tours :

  • Are free because guides organize them free of charge;
  • Encourage citizen involvement and leadership - everyone can lead a Jane’s Walk;
  • Focus on people's passions and observations. Walks are led by people from the neighborhood;
  • Impart a sense of belonging. Walks are inclusive, friendly and interactive. Participants have their own observations and memories in the neighborhood.

Jane’s Walk in Montréal


2017 is the 9th edition of the event in Montréal. Ville-Marie, Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, Montréal-Nord, Laval, Ahuntsic… many Montréal boroughs and cities of the region are in the limelight. Since 2009, 430 walks have taken place in Montréal, mobilizing nearly 10,000 Montréal aficionados.

The Montréal Urban Ecology Centre is the city organizer of the event in Montréal since 2009


The MUEC, a non-profit organization created in 1996, develops and proposes urban practices and policies to help create ecological, democratic and healthy cities. This initiative is made possible by the Community Fund for Canada’s 150th, a collaboration between Foundation of Greater Montréal, the Government of Canada, and extraordinary leaders from coast to coast to coast.

Les promenades de Jane

Des visites guidées gratuites par et pour les citoyens


Les parcours proposés par les citoyens et organisations permettent de mieux connaître la ville en offrant des aperçus de l'histoire locale, de la planification, de l’aménagement et de l'engagement civique, par le simple fait de marcher, d'observer et d’échanger.

Les Promenades de Jane incitent les citoyens à raconter des histoires sur leur quartier, explorer la ville et échanger avec leurs voisins. En 2016, l’événement a eu lieu dans plus de 200 villes dans 39 pays sur six continents.

En 2017, le Centre d’écologie urbaine de Montréal vise une programmation riche et diversifiée rassemblant 150 conversations en marche dans la région de Montréal.

L’événement a lieu les 5, 6 et 7 mai 2017


Célébrée partout dans le monde, la fin de semaine festive se déroule chaque année au début du mois de mai. En 2017, elle se tiendra les 5, 6, 7 mai 2017. Il est possible de proposer une promenade à partir du mois de février 2017.

Elles sont organisées par des passionnés de Montréal


Les personnes, les groupes et les organisations sont invités à se joindre aux Promenades de Jane en offrant des promenades guidées, sur un thème de leur choix. Les guides choisissent eux-mêmes l'itinéraire, les points intéressants et les histoires à raconter sur un quartier, un enjeu, etc. Les organisateurs sont :

  • des passionnés de la ville avides de connaissances sur l’espace urbain et désireux de sociabiliser davantage avec leur voisinage.
  • des personnes intéressées à prendre part à des échanges constructifs sur l'avenir social de leurs quartiers.
  • des personnes engagées dans l’édification des communautés solidaires ainsi que l’amélioration de l’environnement piétonnier.
  • des personnes qui veulent apporter de réels changements dans les villes et les quartiers, comme par exemple réduire les inégalités sociales dans nos villes.

Elles permettent de partager une passion pour la ville


Les Promenades de Jane ont pour objectif de rapprocher les citoyens de leur ville, de leur faire rencontrer leurs voisins, découvrir de nouveaux quartiers et de leur en apprendre davantage sur le paysage urbain, les bâtiments, les parcs, les lieux publics, les monuments et tous les détails de la vie quotidienne qui forment le tissu urbain. Les Promenades de Jane permettent de partager une passion pour la ville, de souder les gens, de créer un sentiment d’identité et d’appartenance et d’encourager la fierté civique.

Les Promenades de Jane :

  • ne coûtent rien aux participants car les guides les organisent gratuitement;
  • encouragent l'engagement citoyen et le leadership - tout le monde peut offrir de guider une Promenade de Jane;
  • focalisent l’attention sur les passions des gens et leurs observations. Les promenades sont menées par des gens du quartier, directement concernés par ce qui y est important et intéressant;
  • communiquent un sentiment d'appartenance. Les promenades se veulent inclusives, amicales et interactives. Les participants y vont de leurs propres observations et de leurs souvenirs dans le quartier.

Les Promenades de Jane à Montréal


À Montréal, les Promenades de Jane en sont à leur 9e édition. Ville-Marie, Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, Montréal-Nord, Laval, Ahuntsic, etc., les différents arrondissements et ville de la région de Montréal sont mis à l’honneur à travers diverses thématiques. Depuis 2009, à Montréal, 430 promenades ont eu lieu mobilisant près de 10 000 amoureux du Grand Montréal.

Le Centre d’écologie urbaine de Montréal coordonne l’événement depuis 2009


Le Centre d'écologie urbaine de Montréal, organisme à but non lucratif créé en 1996, développe et propose des pratiques et des politiques urbaines pour contribuer à créer des villes écologiques, démocratiques et en santé. Cette initiative est rendue possible grâce au Fonds communautaire pour le 150e anniversaire du Canada, qui est une collaboration entre la Fondation du Grand Montréal, le gouvernement du Canada et des leaders extraordinaires de l’Atlantique au Pacifique à l’Arctique.